ANZAC Assembly

On April 25th each year, Australia and New Zealand commemorate the landing of Australian and New Zealand troops on the Gallipoli Peninsula in 1915 as well as the service men and women who have and continue to fight in war. 2018 is incredibly significant as it marks the 100 year anniversary of the signing of the Armistice on the 11th day of the 11th month and the 11th hour which ultimately ended the FIrst World War in 1918.

To commemorate and honour the sacrifice and service of Australian soldiers during war campaigns, the Bethany community came together on May 2 for a special ANZAC service. We were honoured to be joined by Mr Ken Markos, Mr Hugh Quinn and Ms Karen Dunlop from Bexley RSL to mark this special occasion.

The assembly was led by students from the Year 10 Newman History class and Year 12 leadership team who honoured those who have so bravely and willingly protected our freedom. We gave special tribute to the brave women who served so valiantly throughout the wars as nurses and remembered their sacrifice and service as well as the service and sacrifice of the soldiers on the battlefield.

Following the Assembly, the student leaders and I accompanied our special guests and Mrs Rodwell to lay a wreath at the College Lone Pine Memorial on Chisolm Green. We then shared morning tea where we had the opportunity to talk to the RSL representatives and hear their own personal stories regarding the ANZACs and their own experiences during war.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Markos, Mr Quinn and Ms Dunlop for attending the service and offering up their time to talk to us about their own experiences. I would also like to thank the Year 10 students and members of the Year 12 leadership team who spoke at the assembly and so aptly demonstrated the College values of welcoming and acceptance.

This was an incredibly rewarding experience which brought the Bethany community together to commemorate the contribution of men and women who so bravely pursued freedom and peace.

Chloe Allcorn – HSIE Prefect